Layouts!

My editor sent the layouts for Gabby!

Gabby layoutsI’d seen bits and pieces along the way, but seeing it all together (minus the cover and the end notes) was very exciting.

I was out of town on vacation when the email came through; I sent the file to my local copy shop so they could print a couple of colour copies for me to pick up on Monday morning.

It looks even better than I could have hoped. Jan Dolby has done an extremely thoughtful job, illustrating “between the words.” When I wrote the manuscript I took out some descriptive lines that I had thought might handcuff the illustrator. I wanted her to feel free to go her own way, creatively. And boy, did she!

Readers will love some of Jan’s little jokes and ongoing features–like the tiny frog who hides on every page. Kids love reading books again and again; having hidden illustrations and jokes makes reading the book an ongoing discovery not only for kids but for the grown-ups reading it with them.

This entry was posted in Gabby, Publishing/writing process and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

